Award for Policy Excellence


This award recognizes a public servant who has more than five years (continuous or not) of public service experience, and has demonstrated excellence in policy. It is open to public servants currently employed in any public sector organization within the Edmonton Metropolitan Region and Northern Alberta.

Eligibility requirements:

  • Must recognize an individual and not a team.

  • Must be currently employed by the public service (e.g. Federal, Provincial, Municipal government, or related agencies, boards, and commissions).

  • Must work for a public sector organization based in the province of Alberta.

  • Must have at least five years (continuous or not) years of public service experience.

  • Open to any role regardless of level of responsibility or level within organization.

  • Nominees and nominators may not be members of the Board of Directors of IPAC National, nor members of the Board of Directors of IPAC Edmonton or IPAC Calgary Regional Groups.

  • Nominees and nominators may not be members of the IPAC Edmonton Awards Committee.


2019   Bonnie Chan, Government of Alberta, Status of Women

2018   Ian Howatt, City of Edmonton

2017   Esther de Vos, Capital Region Housing Corporation


Nominations are now open for the 2020 year. 

To nominate a candidate for this award, complete the information in the Nomination Form.

All the following parts of the form are required for a complete submission:

  • Part 1: Nomination Information

  • Part 2: Narrative Demonstrating Recognition Criteria

All two parts should be saved and submitted as a single file. Submit file by email to

The 2020 nomination deadline has been extended to April 17, 2020.